EPM Selected Vol. 4

  • Various Artists
  • EPMMusic
  • 2016-04-15

Electronic music promoters and distributors EPM are celebrating their 15 years of service in 2016 with global club events and new releases including their fourth compilation on in-house label EPMMusic. Though they support electronic music in all its forms, their techno leanings heard at tie-ups with Claydrum’s club nights in Maastricht are the focus for this selection acting as a snapshot from their imprint.

The most eye-catching name on the compilation is EPM stalwart Robert Hood who delivers “Shaker” with his signature tough Detroit style paired up with an edgy vocal loop. Lee J. Malcolm of the band Vessels released his debut album Folded Spaces in EPMMusic and offers up “Trashcan Riotface Queen”, an deep electro track that slowly unfolds while there’s dark and grimey techno from Ben Long (“Toltec”) and D-Knox (“Out There”).

There’s shimmering techo from Francesco Terranova with “Magnetica” and Esteban Adame’s “Out to Get It”, an 8-bit throwback from Carl Taylor on “Violet” and a linear cut from Greg Gow & Gareth Whitehead in “Circuit Breaker”. Percussion comes to the fore on Paul Mac’s “Go Back to Go Forward” and Dan Curtin’s wonky “To Modify”; Kristian Heikkila teams up with Christian Lundqvist on compilation closer “01” which ripples along to a soothing finish.

So EPM Selected Vol. 4 is very much for the techno fans, wisely choosing accomplished tracks that show different sides to the genre yet always in a punchy, inventive way.

blog comments powered by Disqus