• Home
  • News
  • Final acts for Sónar Barcelona 2018

Final acts for Sónar Barcelona 2018

James Murphy and 2manydjs’ Despacio club experience and a live show by Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto are among the final confirmations for Sónar Barcelona’s 25th anniversary edition. Festival returns to its two regular locations from Thursday, June 14th to Saturday, June 16th with a special closing show on the Sunday.

The 50 new artists joining the program include Demdike Stare, Sophie, Yaeji, IAMDDB, Jenny Hval, Miss Kittin & Kim Ann Foxman, Alizzz, Liberato and Objekt. The Despacio soundsystem of seven towers of circularly-arranged speakers and amplifiers will be soundtracked for six hours at every Sónar by Day by James Murphy and brothers David and Stephen Dewaele (2manydjs/Soulwax) playing vinyl only. The Dewaele brothers will then adopt their 2manydjs moniker for the closing set in Sónar Village on Saturday, June 16th.

Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto will perform their new piano, electronica and a/v show Two as the closing concert on Sunday, June 17th at the Teatre Grec - one of only three concerts in the world this year. Other live shows will come from Demdike Stare who will provide an AV show with visual artist Michael England; up-and-coming DJ, singer and producer Yaeji; UK Urban act IAMDDB; TOKiMONSTA AV Live presenting her new show; Norwegian artist Jenny Hval and Liberato.

The Red Bull Music Academy will welcome Sophie, Rainforest Spiritual Enslavement (Dominick Fernow x Philippe Hallais x Silent Servant), The Venopian Solitude, DJ Stingray x Mumdance, Suzanne Kraft x Jonny Nash, Dabrye x MC Kadence, Chloé - Slow Mo live and OkLou, Álex Silva Live Band, Clip & Cora Novoa, Museless and Big Menu & Friends to the SonarDôme stage while Objekt, Young Marco, Call Super and DJ Miss Kittin b2b Kim Ann Foxman will also play over the three days.

Meanwhile the Spanish scene will be celebrated by appearances from Alizzz, Pina + Gnomalab, Olde Gods, Steve Lean, Lory Money and DJ Alicia Carrera. They join the previous-announced acts such as LCD Soundsystem, Gorillaz, Thom Yorke, Diplo, Richie Hawtin CLOSE, Laurent Garnier, Cornelius, Rosalía, Modeselektor, Olafur Árnalds, Kode9, Bonobo, Niño de Elche with dancer Israel Galván, Laurel Halo, John Talabot and Lorenzo Senni.

For tickets and details go to sonar.es.

blog comments powered by Disqus