The Welcoming Committee

  • Various
  • Bit-Phalanx
  • 2009-12-07

New label Bit-Phalanx invites us to get to know their artists with a 13 track compilation album featuring their roster of electronica acts. Each gives us a taste of their unique sounds with varied results. With 13 acts represented on one album, it seems only fair to cover them one-by-one.

Hot Roddy’s opener “Tea is the Drug” brings an oriental feel to scatty beats but grows tiresome. Niggle’s “Lamentalist” gets the welcoming party off to an aggressive start with spiky drums and throbbing bass. Martin Phone’s “Over Before It Began” is a dreamy soundscape with spoken word as though you are being told a story by a grandparent while drifting in and out of consciousness. Hector Osbert’s “The Memories Above You Whisper Under A Cloudless Sky” are reminiscent of Nathan Fake’s subtle rousing anthems heard on Drowning in a Sea of Love. Tulin-Fee takes this style and makes it into a playful melody with “Avaloliteshrava”. T-toe’s “Sugarball” is an evolving tune which unfolds from slow stepping beat into a bouncy mid section then floats away; Jilk’s “Nibo Clay” fails to really get going despite promising much in its opening.

A welcoming committee offering a banquet of new music to feast on.

Mr O’s “Projection of a Heavy Heart” is a meticulously-crafted evolution of a simple chord progression which is transformed as layer-upon-layer of synths and beats are added before being drawn away into an intergalactic ether. Portmanteau’s party starter “1983arp” is funk electro at its finest, Black Victory gives a harsh stab to the ears with “Origami Skull Cop” while Douce Angoisse’s “Heartbiker” goes for a more direct dancefloor take on the genre. IJO ensures there’s a spot of Wrong Music-style comedy breakcore with “Lithuanian Pop Fiesta No.1”, though transforms his track into a bluesy number halfway through as though a dial on a radio has been turned suddenly. Final track star delta’s “Deep and Meaningless” is perhaps a little too akin to it’s title to do itself justice, though is a minor failing on an impressive compilation.

As you can tell, no two tracks are the same and there are predominantly plenty of hits with just a couple of misses. Particular stand-out tunes come from Portmanteau, Mr O, IJO and Martin Phone who help ensure this is a welcoming committee offering a banquet of new music to feast on.

blog comments powered by Disqus