Dark Matter: Multiverse 2004-2009

  • Various
  • Tectonic Recordings
  • 2010-07-05

Bristol’s thriving and ever-evolving music scene has many of the labels of choice for innovative electronic music with Multiverse at the centre. Formed in 2004, it’s network of labels includes Tectonic, Kapsize, Earwax, Caravan and Build, exploring sonic possibilities and delivery. This compilation celebrates the five years since its inception with 28 tracks over two CDs featuring luminaries such as Vex’d, Pinch, emptyset, 2562, Skream, Joker and Loefah providing choice heaviness.

A raw and rewarding listen.

Vex’d helped start the dubstep revolution and 2004’s beat bashing “Lion” features here along with the pitch black groove of “Pop Pop” released the same year. Pinch’s “Qawwali”, included here, helped break dubstep to a global audience while hos collaboration with P Dutty of “Get Up” with Massive Attack vocalist Yolanda Quartey and Bristol legend Rob Smith (RSD). There’s also Joker’s rousing “Stuck in the Middle”, Leofah & Skream’s bassline wobble of “28 Grams”, Moving Ninja’s avant garde sounds of “Witchdokta” and “Uranium”. More modern dubstep sounds come from 2562’s techno-laden offerings: an impressive double of “Techno Dread” and the sublime “Unbalance”. The more experimental side of Multiverse normally comes from the Caravan label, here represented by October and emptyset well known for their deep tech and an exclusive from emptyset in the form of “Demain” to round off the collection is a real treat.

There’s a vast amount of creativity captured on this collection that it’s a must-have for electronic music aficionados and those who want to be inspired by the more ponderous offerings that have been spawned from Bristol on these respected labels. It’s a raw and rewarding listen that stirs up excitement and promise for the next five years of Multiverse’s collaborative approach to making forward-thinking music.

blog comments powered by Disqus